- The CFE Exam at a Glance
- Where the 80 Questions Come From
- Domain-by-Domain Cheat Sheet
- The Twelve Supplementary Specification Topics
- Fees, Windows and Logistics
- Exam-Day Rules: Proctor, Calculator, Closed Book
- Validity, Renewal and Retakes
- Who the Credential Is For
- A Four-Week Plan Built Around the Question Counts
- What Is Still Unverified
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Food Executive exam has 80 multiple-choice questions, a 75-minute limit, and a 70% passing score.
- Food Service Management is the biggest question group at 20 of 80 questions; Food Safety follows with 12.
- Current IFSEA pages list $299 plus a 3% card fee and require completion within 60 days of purchase.
- No experience requirement applies, but a proctor is required and study aids are prohibited.
The CFE Exam at a Glance
This is a one-page review of the Certified Food Executive (CFE) credential offered through the International Food Service Executives Association (IFSEA). The exam is administered by Foodservice Institute under the IFSEA/GFI partnership, and the official online exam link runs through ClassMarker. If you are brand new to the credential, the overview of what CFE certification is covers the background; this page is the fast-reference version for people who already know what they are signing up for.
| Item | What the current-linked handbook and IFSEA pages say |
|---|---|
| Format | 80 multiple-choice questions |
| Time limit | 75 minutes |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Calculator | Basic four-function calculator allowed |
| Price | $299, or $307.97 with the published 3% card fee |
| Completion window | Within 60 days of purchase (this is not the exam duration) |
| Experience requirement | None under current IFSEA policy |
| Supervision | Proctor and integrity form required; closed book |
| Validity | Five years |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
For a deeper look at how the scoring threshold works in practice, see our guide to the CFE passing score. Since IFSEA does not disclose a pass rate, the CFE pass rate article explains what can and cannot be said responsibly about difficulty.
Where the 80 Questions Come From
The handbook lists eight Online Exam Question Make-up groups and publishes how many questions each contributes. These are counts, not percentage weights. IFSEA does not publish percentage weights, and no formal blueprint revision date has been established, so treat the counts as the best available guide to emphasis rather than a guaranteed template for every exam form.
| Question Group | Published Question Count |
|---|---|
| Food Service Management | 20 |
| Food Safety | 12 |
| Customer Service | 10 |
| Nutrition | 10 |
| Operational Employee Safety | 10 |
| Culinary Arts | 8 |
| HACCP | 6 |
| Food Service Math | 4 |
| Total | 80 |
Two quick observations from the table. First, Food Service Management alone accounts for 20 of the 80 questions, which is a quarter of the exam by count. Second, Food Service Math is the smallest group at four questions, so it should not consume a disproportionate share of your study hours, even if numbers make you nervous. The full domain breakdown lives in the complete guide to all 8 CFE content areas.
Domain-by-Domain Cheat Sheet
The live IFSEA page names the core subject areas as Food Service Manager, Food Safety, HACCP, Customer Service, Purchasing, Storage and industry-related mathematical formulas. The handbook's eight groups give the more granular map below. Use each box as a prompt for self-quizzing rather than a complete syllabus.
Food Service Management (20 questions)
The heaviest group. Expect scenario-style items about running a foodservice operation, supervising people and controlling resources.
- Personnel management, leadership and communication with staff
- Purchasing, receiving, storage and inventory control
- Cost accounting and financial management basics
- Standard operating procedures and strategic planning
- Federal labor law awareness as it affects scheduling, hiring and discipline
Food Safety (12 questions)
The second-largest group and one where precise recall pays off.
- Foodborne illness prevention and personal hygiene expectations
- Safe receiving, storage and handling practices
- Cross-contamination controls and sanitation routines
- Time and temperature concepts you can apply to a kitchen situation
Customer Service (10 questions)
Applied judgment about guests and front-of-house reality.
- Handling complaints and recovering a dissatisfied guest
- Setting service standards and communicating them to staff
- Balancing guest satisfaction with operational and cost limits
Nutrition (10 questions)
Nutrition appears both as a question group and again in the supplementary topic list, so it deserves real attention.
- Core nutrient categories and their role in menu planning
- Applying basic nutrition principles to the menus and customers an operation serves
Operational Employee Safety (10 questions)
Often underestimated because it sits outside food safety proper.
- Workplace hazards in kitchens and storage areas
- Safe equipment use, lifting, slips and burns prevention
- Management responsibility for a safe working environment
Culinary Arts (8 questions)
Practical kitchen knowledge expected of an executive who oversees production.
- Cooking methods and production fundamentals
- Menu and recipe concepts relevant to operations
HACCP (6 questions)
Small by count but conceptually dense.
- The purpose of a hazard analysis and critical control points system
- Identifying hazards, critical control points and monitoring approaches
- How HACCP connects to everyday food safety practice
Food Service Math (4 questions)
Four questions, with a basic four-function calculator permitted.
- Industry-related formulas for costs, yields and portions
- Percentages and conversions you can do with simple arithmetic
The Twelve Supplementary Specification Topics
Separate from the eight question groups, the handbook lists twelve Online Exam Specifications topics. IFSEA does not assign weights to them or explicitly map them to the eight groups, so use them as additional scope, not as a second scoring structure.
- Labor Laws - Federal
- Personnel Management
- Leadership
- Communication Skills
- Purchasing
- Inventory
- Cost Accounting
- Standard Operating Procedures
- Financial Management
- Strategic Planning
- Nutrition
- Culinary Arts
Notice how heavily this list leans toward management: nine of the twelve topics are business and people-leadership subjects. That fits with Food Service Management being the largest published group, and it signals that this credential rewards an operator's perspective over a purely culinary one. For a full walkthrough of how to build a study plan around this scope, start with the CFE study guide.
Fees, Windows and Logistics
Current live IFSEA pages take precedence on pricing and timing. They list the training/exam price at $299, or $307.97 once the published 3% card fee is included. No separate member and non-member tiers are currently published.
- Completion window: You must complete the exam within 60 days of purchase. This is a purchase-to-completion deadline, not the length of the test. The test itself is 75 minutes.
- Platform: The official online exam link uses ClassMarker.
- Experience: Current IFSEA policy lists no experience requirement.
- Reseller claims: Test-length claims from resellers and separate IFSEAEF pricing or eligibility are not adopted here.
For a full pricing walkthrough, including how to budget for a possible retake, see the CFE certification cost breakdown. Eligibility details are covered in CFE requirements, and scheduling specifics are in the CFE exam dates guide.
Exam-Day Rules: Proctor, Calculator, Closed Book
IFSEA's current pages require a proctor and an integrity form. The exam is closed book under supervision: study aids and outside help are prohibited. The one explicit tool permission is a basic four-function calculator.
- Line up your proctor early. Because the 60-day clock starts at purchase, do not buy the exam until you have a realistic plan for who will supervise you.
- Complete the integrity form. Treat it as a required step, not an afterthought.
- Bring only a basic four-function calculator. A phone, scientific model or notes will put your attempt at risk.
- Clear your desk and your space. Closed-book supervision means no reference materials within reach.
Current remote-proctor arrangements remain unverified, so confirm with IFSEA exactly what your proctor needs to do and whether a remote option is available to you before you begin.
Validity, Renewal and Retakes
According to the handbook, certification is valid for five years. Renewal is done by retaking the exam with at least 70%, not by accumulating a fixed number of continuing education units. The handbook also describes a 90-day grace period after expiry. Current renewal fees remain unverified, so confirm them with the issuer.
Key Takeaway
Retakes carry a consistent 14-day waiting period, but the handbook contradicts itself on cost: one section describes one free retest and then $99, while another charges for every attempt. Do not budget on the assumption of a free retest. Ask IFSEA for the current retake fee in writing before you purchase.
Who the Credential Is For
IFSEA aims the CFE at foodservice directors, store managers and restaurant operators. That audience explains the exam's tilt toward management, cost control and people leadership. If your day-to-day work involves scheduling staff, controlling purchasing and inventory, answering to health inspectors and keeping guests satisfied, the exam content will feel familiar.
Whether the credential pays off for your situation depends on your employer and market, and no verified salary figures are published here. For a considered take, read whether the CFE certification is worth it, the CFE salary guide, and the overview of CFE jobs. If the name itself is what you are trying to pin down, see what CFE stands for; in this context it means Certified Food Executive.
A Four-Week Plan Built Around the Question Counts
The sequence below allocates time by published question count and groups related content so you are not relearning the same vocabulary twice. It fits comfortably inside the 60-day completion window, though you should not purchase until you are close to ready.
Food Service Management (20 questions)
- Cover personnel management, leadership, communication and federal labor law
- Work through purchasing, inventory, cost accounting and financial management
- Review standard operating procedures and strategic planning
Food Safety, HACCP and Employee Safety (28 questions combined)
- Learn hazards, controls and sanitation in Food Safety first
- Layer HACCP concepts on top of that vocabulary
- Finish with Operational Employee Safety hazards and management duties
Customer Service, Nutrition and Culinary Arts (28 questions combined)
- Practice complaint-handling and service-standard scenarios
- Review nutrition principles as they apply to menus
- Refresh cooking methods and production fundamentals
Food Service Math plus timed review
- Drill cost, yield and portion formulas with a four-function calculator only
- Take timed sets sized to 80 questions in 75 minutes
- Revisit the weakest group, then confirm proctor and logistics before purchase
Once you reach the timed-review stage, take a full-length attempt on our CFE practice test to check both your knowledge and your pacing. You can also use the main practice test site for repeated question sets by domain so you can see which group needs another pass. For a broader preparation framework, the CFE difficulty guide explains where candidates typically find the exam demanding, and the CFE training overview outlines the instructional side.
What Is Still Unverified
An honest cheat sheet should flag its gaps. As of the sources reviewed on September 29, 2026 (the current IFSEA CFE, certifications, proctoring and ethics pages, plus the current-linked candidate handbook), the following remain unconfirmed:
- The scored versus unscored question split
- A formal blueprint revision date or any percentage-weighted blueprint
- Current renewal fees and current retake fees
- Current remote-proctor arrangements
- Any observed pass rate
- Degree, hour or reference quotas (none are asserted)
When a detail on this list matters to your plan, confirm it directly with IFSEA rather than relying on a third-party summary, including this one.
Frequently Asked Questions
The current-linked handbook specifies 80 multiple-choice questions with a 75-minute limit. You need at least 70% to pass. The 60-day window on IFSEA's page is the time you have to complete the exam after purchase, not the length of the test.
Food Service Management is the largest published group at 20 of 80 questions. Food Safety follows with 12, then Customer Service, Nutrition and Operational Employee Safety at 10 each. These are published counts, not official percentage weights.
Yes, but only a basic four-function calculator. The exam is closed book under supervision, and study aids and outside help are prohibited. Food Service Math is only four questions, so the calculator matters less than steady pacing across all 80 items.
Current IFSEA pages list $299, or $307.97 with the published 3% card fee, with no member and non-member tiers published. Older handbook figures such as $219 conflict with the live pages and should not be used. Confirm the current total with IFSEA before paying.
The handbook describes renewal by retaking the exam and scoring at least 70%, rather than a fixed CEU quota, along with a 90-day grace period after expiry. Current renewal fees are unverified, so ask IFSEA what you will owe before your certification lapses.