CFE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CFE?

TL;DR
  • CFE here means Certified Food Executive, issued through the International Food Service Executives Association (IFSEA).
  • The exam has 80 multiple-choice questions, a 75-minute limit and a 70% passing mark.
  • Food Service Management is the largest published group at 20 of 80 questions.
  • Current IFSEA pages list a $299 price plus a 3% card fee and a 60-day completion window.

What CFE Means Here: Certified Food Executive

The acronym "CFE" is shared by several unrelated credentials, which causes real confusion for people searching the term. On this site, CFE means Certified Food Executive, a foodservice management credential connected to the International Food Service Executives Association (IFSEA). It is not a finance, fraud, or any other profession's certification, and nothing in this article should be read as describing one.

If you are still sorting out terminology, our short explainers on what CFE stands for and the meaning of CFE cover the naming question directly. This article focuses on what the Certified Food Executive credential actually is, what it tests, and how the logistics work.

At its core, the credential is a knowledge verification for people who run or help run food operations. It asks whether you can demonstrate working command of the areas a foodservice leader touches every day: kitchens, guests, safety systems, people, money and menus.

Who Issues the Credential and How It Is Delivered

The credential is offered by IFSEA and administered by the Foodservice Institute through the IFSEA/GFI partnership. The official online exam link runs through ClassMarker, a web-based testing platform, so the exam is taken online rather than at a physical testing center.

Online does not mean unsupervised. Current IFSEA pages require a proctor and an integrity form, and the closed-book rules prohibit study aids and outside help. The one explicit allowance in the candidate handbook is a basic four-function calculator. Specific remote-proctor arrangements are something to confirm with the issuer before you schedule, since they are not fully spelled out in the public materials.

Source hierarchy matters: The candidate handbook linked from the IFSEA site carries July 2022 file metadata, and some of its older terms (a $219 price, a one-year scheduling window, a manager or director prerequisite) conflict with what the live IFSEA pages say today. Where they disagree, the current live pages win. Always verify price, window and eligibility on the issuer's site before paying.

The Exam at a Glance: Format, Timing and Scoring

The handbook describes a compact, single-sitting exam. The numbers below are the ones the issuer publishes; items the issuer does not publish are marked as such rather than guessed.

FeatureWhat Is Published
Question count80 multiple-choice questions
Time limit75 minutes
Passing score70%
CalculatorBasic four-function calculator permitted
Reference materialsClosed book; study aids and outside help prohibited
SupervisionProctor and integrity form required
Scored vs. unscored splitNot verified
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Blueprint percentage weightsNot published (question counts only)

Do the arithmetic early. Seventy-five minutes across 80 questions leaves under a minute per item, so this is a test of recall and quick judgment rather than extended calculation. A 70% mark means you need roughly 56 of 80 correct, assuming all items are scored, a detail the issuer has not confirmed. For a deeper look at the threshold, see our page on the CFE passing score.

People often ask how tough this is. Because the issuer does not disclose a pass rate, anyone quoting one is guessing. Our CFE pass rate discussion explains what can and cannot be said from public data, and the difficulty guide frames the challenge qualitatively.

The Eight Question Groups Explained

The handbook's "Online Exam Question Make-up" lists eight groups with published question counts that total 80. These are counts, not percentage weights, and no official percentages are published. Use them as a map of where the points sit.

Question GroupPublished Questions
Food Service Management20
Food Safety12
Customer Service10
Nutrition10
Operational Employee Safety10
Culinary Arts8
HACCP6
Food Service Math4

For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, see our complete guide to all eight CFE content areas. Below is a practical orientation to each group.

Food Service Management (20 questions)

The heaviest group by a wide margin, holding a quarter of the exam. Think of it as the operator's core competency: running the business side of a food operation.

  • Planning, organizing and directing daily operations
  • Staffing, scheduling and supervising teams
  • Controlling costs, ordering and receiving
  • Applying standard operating procedures consistently

Food Safety (12 questions)

The second-largest group. Expect scenario-style questions about preventing foodborne illness in real kitchens.

  • Safe receiving, storage and temperature control
  • Cross-contamination and personal hygiene
  • Cleaning, sanitizing and pest control basics

HACCP (6 questions)

A smaller group, but a conceptually tight one: a systematic method for identifying and controlling hazards before they reach the guest.

  • Hazard analysis and critical control points
  • Monitoring, corrective action and record keeping
  • How HACCP differs from general food safety practices

Customer Service (10 questions)

Guest-facing judgment: handling complaints, setting service standards and recognizing what turns a one-time visitor into a regular.

Nutrition (10 questions)

Practical nutrition literacy for menu planning, dietary needs and communicating with guests about food choices.

Operational Employee Safety (10 questions)

Protecting the workforce: safe equipment use, injury prevention, safe handling of hazards and workplace compliance basics.

Culinary Arts (8 questions)

Cooking methods, kitchen terminology, ingredient handling and production fundamentals that every foodservice executive is expected to understand even if they do not cook daily.

Food Service Math (4 questions)

The smallest group, but the one where the calculator matters. The live IFSEA page references industry-related mathematical formulas.

  • Portioning, yields and conversions
  • Cost and pricing calculations
  • Percentages used in everyday operations
Read the table carefully: Food Safety, HACCP and Operational Employee Safety together account for 28 of 80 questions. Add Food Service Management and you reach 48, so management plus the safety cluster makes up the clear majority of the exam. A candidate who is strong there and merely adequate elsewhere is better positioned than the reverse.

The Twelve Supplementary Exam Specification Topics

Beyond the eight question groups, the handbook lists twelve "Online Exam Specifications" topics. The issuer gives them no separate weights and does not map them one-to-one onto the eight groups, so treat them as supplementary scope, the subject matter you should expect to see woven through the questions:

  • Labor Laws (federal)
  • Personnel Management
  • Leadership
  • Communication Skills
  • Purchasing
  • Inventory
  • Cost Accounting
  • Standard Operating Procedures
  • Financial Management
  • Strategic Planning
  • Nutrition
  • Culinary Arts

Notice how heavily this list leans toward the business side: people, purchasing, inventory, costs, finance and planning. That is the reason Food Service Management carries the most questions, and why the credential reads more like an executive's knowledge check than a line cook's skills test. Candidates coming from a culinary background often need extra time on cost accounting, financial management and federal labor law, while candidates from a business background often need extra time on food safety terminology and HACCP.

Who the Credential Is Built For

IFSEA aims the certification at foodservice directors, store managers and restaurant operators. Current IFSEA policy lists no experience requirement, which differs from the manager or director prerequisite described in the older handbook. Details such as degree requirements, hour quotas or reference letters are not verified in the public materials, so confirm anything beyond the basics directly with the issuer. Our CFE requirements page walks through what is and is not established.

In practice, the people who gain the most from the credential tend to be:

  • Restaurant operators and general managers who want a formal credential that documents broad operating knowledge.
  • Institutional foodservice directors in settings such as healthcare, education or corporate dining, where safety and nutrition literacy are central.
  • Store and unit managers in multi-unit or retail food operations moving toward district or regional roles.
  • Career changers and rising supervisors who lack a degree but want a recognized signal of competence.

If you are weighing what the credential can do for your career, our pieces on CFE jobs, the CFE salary guide and whether the certification is worth it take up those questions. Be wary of any source that attaches a precise salary bump to the credential; the issuer publishes no such figure.

Registration, Fees and the 60-Day Window

Current IFSEA pages list the training and exam price at $299, or $307.97 once the published 3% card fee is included. No separate member and non-member pricing tier is currently published. Related organizations such as IFSEAEF have their own pricing and eligibility language; that is not the same offering and is not used here.

The key timing rule is that you must complete the exam within 60 days of purchase. That window is a deadline for finishing, not the length of the test. The test itself is the 75-minute sitting described above. Mixing those two numbers up is one of the more common misreadings of the program, and some third-party sites quote test lengths that the issuer does not publish.

Plan backward from the clock: Because the 60-day window begins at purchase, buying the exam before you have a study plan wastes calendar time. Decide your preparation schedule first, line up a proctor, and only then pay. See our CFE certification cost breakdown for the fee mechanics and our exam dates and scheduling page for timing considerations.

Five-Year Validity, Renewal and Retakes

According to the handbook, the certification is valid for five years. Renewal works by retaking the exam and scoring at least 70%, not by accumulating a fixed number of continuing education credits. The handbook also describes a 90-day grace period after expiry. Current renewal fees are not verified, so check with IFSEA before budgeting for a renewal cycle.

Retakes deserve a careful read. The handbook specifies a 14-day wait before a retest, but it contradicts itself on cost: one section describes one free retest followed by a $99 charge, while another charges for every attempt. Because current retake fees and any included free retest are unresolved, confirm the policy with the issuer before you assume a safety net exists. The practical lesson is to treat your first attempt as the one that counts and prepare accordingly.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Published Counts

Generic study advice is easy to find; what is less common is a plan built from the exam's own structure. Here is one way to allocate a roughly four-week runway, using the published question counts as the guide. Adjust the order if your background makes some areas easier than others.

Week 1

Food Service Management foundations

  • Start with the 20-question group because it is the largest and the twelve supplementary topics feed it.
  • Cover personnel management, leadership, communication, SOPs and federal labor law.
Week 2

The safety cluster

  • Food Safety (12), HACCP (6) and Operational Employee Safety (10) together are 28 questions.
  • Study HACCP right after Food Safety so the system-versus-practice distinction stays fresh.
Week 3

Numbers and the business side

  • Food Service Math (4) plus purchasing, inventory, cost accounting and financial management.
  • Practice with only a four-function calculator, since that is all the exam allows.
Week 4

Guest-facing and culinary review, then full run-throughs

  • Customer Service (10), Nutrition (10) and Culinary Arts (8).
  • Finish with timed sets of 80 questions in 75 minutes, closed book, to rehearse the real pacing.

For a fuller methodology, see the CFE study guide and the one-page CFE cheat sheet for last-minute review. Timed drills in particular are best done with realistic questions; you can work through them on our CFE practice test site, and the CFE training overview explains how the issuer's own training fits alongside independent practice.

Key Takeaway

Spend your study hours in proportion to the published counts, but do not skip the small groups. Four Food Service Math questions or six HACCP questions can be the difference between 55 and 57 correct answers, and the pass line sits right around there.

This article is the broad orientation. If you want to go deeper on a single question, our related explainers include what CFE certification is, what a CFE is as a job title or designation, and the overview at CFE certification. When you are ready to test yourself against realistic questions, the full practice test mirrors the 80-question, 75-minute format described above.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CFE stand for on this site?

It stands for Certified Food Executive, a foodservice management credential connected to the International Food Service Executives Association (IFSEA). Other credentials share the acronym, but this site covers only the Certified Food Executive.

How many questions are on the exam and how long do I have?

The candidate handbook specifies 80 multiple-choice questions in 75 minutes, with a 70% passing score. A basic four-function calculator is permitted, and the exam is closed book under proctor supervision.

Which topic carries the most questions?

Food Service Management, with 20 of the 80 published questions. The other groups are Food Safety (12), Customer Service (10), Nutrition (10), Operational Employee Safety (10), Culinary Arts (8), HACCP (6) and Food Service Math (4). These are counts, not official percentage weights.

Do I need work experience to sit for the exam?

Current IFSEA policy lists no experience requirement, although the certification is aimed at foodservice directors, store managers and restaurant operators. Older handbook language mentions a manager or director prerequisite, so confirm eligibility directly with IFSEA.

How long does the certification last and how do I renew?

The handbook states five-year validity, with renewal by retaking the exam and scoring at least 70%. It is not based on a fixed number of continuing education credits. Current renewal fees are not verified, so check with the issuer.

Ready to pass your CFE exam?

Put this into practice with free CFE questions across every exam domain.