- What "Requirements" Actually Means for the Certified Food Executive
- Eligibility Snapshot: Who Can Sit the Exam
- Why You May See Conflicting Terms Online
- Registration, Payment and the 60-Day Window
- Proctor and Integrity Requirements
- Exam Format You Must Be Ready For
- Knowledge Requirements: The Eight Question Groups
- Supplementary Scope: Twelve Exam Specification Topics
- Who Should Apply (and Who Should Wait)
- Maintaining the Credential: Five-Year Validity and Renewal
- A Domain-Based Qualification Plan
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Current IFSEA policy lists no experience requirement for the Certified Food Executive exam.
- Pricing is $299, or $307.97 with the published 3% card fee, and you must finish within 60 days of purchase.
- The exam has 80 multiple-choice questions, 75 minutes, and a 70% passing mark, with a basic four-function calculator allowed.
- An integrity form and a proctor are required, and the closed-book rules prohibit study aids and outside help.
What "Requirements" Actually Means for the Certified Food Executive
When people search for CFE requirements, they usually want to know one thing: can I take this exam, and what do I have to do to earn the credential? For the Certified Food Executive, offered through the International Food Service Executives Association (IFSEA) and administered by Foodservice Institute in the IFSEA/GFI partnership, the answer is more approachable than many professional credentials. There is no gate of years-in-the-industry or a mandatory degree on the current issuer pages. What stands between you and the credential is a purchase, a supervised exam sitting, and a 70% score on a broad foodservice knowledge test.
This guide breaks "requirements" into three buckets: eligibility (who may apply), process requirements (payment, proctoring, integrity paperwork, timing), and knowledge requirements (what you must know to pass). If you want the big-picture definition first, see What Is CFE Certification? and What Does CFE Stand For? before returning here.
Eligibility Snapshot: Who Can Sit the Exam
According to current IFSEA policy, the Certified Food Executive has no experience requirement. The credential is aimed at foodservice directors, store managers and restaurant operators, but that describes the intended audience rather than a hard prerequisite. Several items that other credentials routinely demand are not established for this one: specific degree levels, minimum hour counts, and reference letters are unverified, so do not assume you need them, and do not be surprised if the issuer clarifies otherwise.
| Requirement | Status for Certified Food Executive |
|---|---|
| Years of industry experience | None required under current IFSEA policy |
| Degree | No degree quota verified |
| Hour or reference quotas | Not verified; none published on the pages reviewed |
| Target audience | Foodservice directors, store managers, restaurant operators |
| Integrity form | Required |
| Proctor | Required |
| Completion window | Within 60 days of purchase |
Why You May See Conflicting Terms Online
One of the most important things to understand about CFE requirements is that older and newer descriptions of the program do not fully agree. The candidate handbook linked from the IFSEA site carries July 2022 file metadata, and parts of it describe older terms: a different price ($219), scheduling within one year, and a manager or director prerequisite. Current live IFSEA pages describe a $299 price plus a 3% card fee, completion within 60 days of purchase, and no experience requirement.
Where the live pages and the handbook conflict, this article follows the live pages for price, window, and experience rules. The handbook remains useful for exam structure and content, which is why those details are drawn from it. The handbook's July 2022 date should not be read as proof of a 2026 revision, and no formal blueprint revision date has been established. If something you read, whether on a reseller page, a forum, or an older PDF, contradicts the issuer's current pages, treat the issuer as the authority and confirm directly.
Registration, Payment and the 60-Day Window
The mechanics are straightforward. The training and exam package is priced at $299, or $307.97 if you pay by card and the published 3% card fee applies. No separate member versus non-member price tier is published at present. The official online exam link runs through ClassMarker, the platform used to deliver the test.
The key timing rule is the 60-day completion window. You must complete the exam within 60 days of purchase. This is a deadline for finishing, not the length of the test. The test itself is 75 minutes. Mixing those two numbers up is a common mistake: the 60 days is how long you have to get the whole process done, and the 75 minutes is how long you have once the exam starts.
For a full breakdown of what you will spend, including what is and is not confirmed about renewal and retakes, read CFE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown. For scheduling logistics, see CFE Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Key Takeaway
Do not buy until you can protect a study block inside 60 days. The clock starts at purchase, so line up your proctor and your calendar first, then pay.
Proctor and Integrity Requirements
Two process requirements surprise candidates who expect a casual online quiz: the exam is proctored, and you must submit an integrity form. Current IFSEA pages describe the exam as closed-book under supervision. Study aids and outside help are prohibited. The one explicit allowance is a basic four-function calculator, which matters because the Food Service Math group involves calculations.
Current remote-proctor arrangements are unverified, meaning you should not assume you can sit the exam from your kitchen table without an approved proctor in place. IFSEA maintains dedicated proctoring and ethics pages, and those are the pages to consult for who qualifies as an acceptable proctor and what the integrity form commits you to. A general range for proctor presence is not a substitute for the exam's own 75-minute timer, so keep the two concepts separate.
- Before exam day: identify your proctor, complete the integrity form, and confirm what the issuer accepts.
- During the exam: no notes, no reference sites, no help from colleagues, calculator limited to basic four-function.
- Afterward: your result depends on reaching 70%, nothing else.
Exam Format You Must Be Ready For
The handbook specifies the structure candidates face:
| Feature | Detail |
|---|---|
| Question type | Multiple choice |
| Number of questions | 80 |
| Time limit | 75 minutes |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Calculator | Basic four-function permitted |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Unverified |
| Public pass rate | Not disclosed |
Seventy-five minutes for 80 questions leaves under a minute per item, so pacing is a real requirement. For context on how a 70% cut score translates into practice, see CFE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass. Because the pass rate is not publicly disclosed, be wary of any site quoting one; the discussion in CFE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains what can and cannot be said honestly.
Knowledge Requirements: The Eight Question Groups
The most meaningful requirement is content knowledge. The handbook publishes eight question-makeup groups with question counts that total 80. It does not publish percentage weights, so treat the numbers below as counts, not official percentages.
| Domain | Published Question Count (of 80) |
|---|---|
| Food Service Management | 20 |
| Food Safety | 12 |
| Customer Service | 10 |
| Nutrition | 10 |
| Operational Employee Safety | 10 |
| Culinary Arts | 8 |
| HACCP | 6 |
| Food Service Math | 4 |
Food Service Management (20 questions)
The largest group by a wide margin. This is where the "executive" in Certified Food Executive earns its name.
- Expect questions on running operations, people, and money rather than recipes.
- Pair this group with the supplementary topics on personnel management, leadership, and financial management (see next section).
Food Safety and HACCP (12 + 6 questions)
Together these account for 18 questions, nearly a quarter of the exam.
- Food Safety covers the broad hygiene and handling knowledge a manager is accountable for.
- HACCP is smaller but conceptually distinct: hazard analysis, critical control points, and the systematic approach to preventing contamination.
Customer Service, Nutrition, and Operational Employee Safety (10 each)
Three groups of equal size, together worth 30 questions.
- Customer Service tests how a food executive handles guests and complaints.
- Nutrition checks working knowledge of dietary principles relevant to menus and service.
- Operational Employee Safety concerns protecting staff in the workplace, which differs from protecting guests through food safety.
Culinary Arts (8) and Food Service Math (4)
The smallest groups, but not ignorable on a 70% exam.
- Culinary Arts addresses kitchen and cooking fundamentals.
- Food Service Math is only four questions, yet it is where the four-function calculator comes into play: think industry formulas and cost-style calculations.
A deeper walkthrough of each area lives in CFE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas.
Supplementary Scope: Twelve Exam Specification Topics
Beyond the eight question groups, the handbook lists twelve "Online Exam Specifications" topics. These are unweighted and not mapped one-to-one to the eight groups, so use them as a scope checklist rather than a blueprint:
- Labor Laws (Federal)
- Personnel Management
- Leadership
- Communication Skills
- Purchasing
- Inventory
- Cost Accounting
- Standard Operating Procedures
- Financial Management
- Strategic Planning
- Nutrition
- Culinary Arts
Notice how heavily this list leans toward management and business: labor law, cost accounting, financial management, strategic planning. That fits the exam's largest group and reinforces that the Certified Food Executive is a management credential. The live IFSEA page also names Food Service Manager, Food Safety, HACCP, Customer Service, Purchasing, Storage, and industry-related mathematical formulas as areas covered. If your background is culinary rather than managerial, the purchasing, inventory and cost topics are where you are most likely to find gaps.
Who Should Apply (and Who Should Wait)
The Certified Food Executive is aimed at foodservice directors, store managers and restaurant operators. In practice, strong candidates include:
- Working managers who want a recognized credential on their résumé to document managerial knowledge.
- Aspiring supervisors moving from the line into leadership who want structured exposure to purchasing, cost control and staffing topics.
- Operators and owners who learned on the job and want to validate that knowledge against a standard.
You might wait if you cannot yet commit to the 60-day window, cannot arrange a proctor, or have not touched management topics at all and need more time to build foundations. For a view of how the credential connects to roles, see CFE Jobs, and for whether the investment pays off, Is the CFE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CFE Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis.
Maintaining the Credential: Five-Year Validity and Renewal
Qualifying is not a one-time event forever. According to the handbook, the certification is valid for five years, and renewal is done by retaking the exam and scoring at least 70%. This differs from credentials that require a fixed number of continuing education units; the handbook does not describe a fixed CEU quota. It also describes a 90-day grace period after expiry. These are handbook-derived terms, not a verified 2026 revision, and current renewal fees remain unverified.
Retakes are another area where caution is warranted. The handbook consistently states a 14-day wait before a retest, but it contradicts itself on charges: one section suggests one free retest then $99, while another charges for every attempt. Current retake fees and whether any free retest is included therefore need issuer confirmation. Do not budget on the assumption of a free second attempt.
Key Takeaway
Plan to pass the first time, and ask IFSEA in writing about retake charges before you register. A 14-day waiting period plus a 60-day purchase window leaves little slack for repeated attempts.
A Domain-Based Qualification Plan
This is the one place generic scheduling is useful, and it is tied directly to the published question counts. Weight your time toward the heaviest groups first, then close gaps in the unweighted specification topics. Your 60-day window means roughly eight weeks, so the plan below uses six study weeks with a buffer.
Food Service Management (20 questions)
- Cover personnel management, leadership, and communication skills.
- Add federal labor law basics.
Business Operations
- Purchasing, inventory, cost accounting, financial management.
- Practice the Food Service Math formulas with a basic four-function calculator only.
Food Safety and HACCP (18 questions combined)
- Learn how HACCP differs from general food safety practice.
- Review standard operating procedures as they relate to safety.
People-Facing Groups (30 questions combined)
- Customer Service, Nutrition, and Operational Employee Safety.
- Keep employee safety separate from food safety in your notes.
Culinary Arts and Strategic Planning
- Cover Culinary Arts (8 questions) and strategic planning from the specification list.
- Take a timed 80-question practice run at 75 minutes.
Weak-Spot Review
- Revisit missed topics, then schedule the proctored sitting while the 60-day clock still has buffer.
For a fuller method, read CFE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and keep the CFE Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts handy for last-minute review. If you are unsure how demanding the test is, How Hard Is the CFE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 sets expectations. When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, use the CFE practice tests to rehearse the 80-question, 75-minute format, and revisit the main practice test site as often as you need during your final week.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. Current IFSEA policy lists no experience requirement. The credential targets foodservice directors, store managers and restaurant operators, but that describes the intended audience rather than a prerequisite. Older handbook language about a manager or director prerequisite conflicts with the live pages and is not used as a current requirement.
The current training and exam price is $299, or $307.97 including the published 3% card fee. You must complete the exam within 60 days of purchase. That window is not the test duration; the exam itself runs 75 minutes. Renewal and retake fees should be confirmed with the issuer.
Yes, a proctor and an integrity form are required, and the exam is closed-book. Study aids and outside help are prohibited. A basic four-function calculator is permitted. Current remote-proctor arrangements are unverified, so check IFSEA's proctoring page before scheduling.
You need 70% on 80 multiple-choice questions in 75 minutes. Food Service Management is the largest published group at 20 of 80 questions, followed by Food Safety at 12. These are question counts, not official percentage weights, so study all eight groups.
The handbook states five-year validity, with renewal by retaking the exam and scoring at least 70%, rather than a fixed CEU quota. It also describes a 90-day expiry grace period. These are handbook-derived terms and current renewal fees remain unverified, so confirm with IFSEA before your expiry date.