- The Number: 70% on 80 Questions
- Doing the Math: How Many Questions You Can Miss
- What the Score Is Made Of: The Eight Question Groups
- Where Candidates Lose Points Without Realizing It
- Exam Conditions That Affect Your Score
- Fees, Retakes, and What a Miss Costs
- What Your Score Buys: Validity and Renewal
- Building a Plan Around the Passing Score
- What the Issuer Has Not Published
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Food Executive exam requires 70% on 80 multiple-choice questions in 75 minutes.
- Food Service Management is the largest published group at 20 of 80 questions.
- Food Service Math is only 4 questions, but a basic four-function calculator is allowed.
- The handbook lists a 14-day retest wait, but retake fees are inconsistent and need issuer confirmation.
The Number: 70% on 80 Questions
The passing standard for the Certified Food Executive (CFE) credential, issued through the International Food Service Executives Association (IFSEA) and administered by Foodservice Institute, is simple to state: 70%. The candidate handbook describes an exam of 80 multiple-choice questions with a 75-minute time limit, and it names 70% as the passing score. That is the entire published pass/fail rule. There is no scaled-score conversion, no published cut-score methodology, and no domain-by-domain minimum in the materials we reviewed.
That simplicity is useful. You are not trying to reach a mysterious scaled number, and you are not required to clear a separate threshold in each content area. You are trying to answer enough questions correctly across the whole exam. If you want the broader context for what the credential is and who it is built for, start with our overview What Is CFE Certification?, then come back here for the scoring mechanics.
Doing the Math: How Many Questions You Can Miss
Because the handbook gives both the question count and the passing percentage, you can work out the arithmetic yourself. Seventy percent of 80 questions is 56 correct answers, which means you can miss up to 24 and still reach the threshold. The calculation assumes all 80 questions count toward the score. The issuer has not stated whether some questions are unscored, so treat that split as unverified. If a handful of items are unscored pretest questions, the real margin for error would shift slightly, but you cannot see which items those would be, so the practical strategy does not change: answer everything as carefully as you can.
| Item | Published Figure |
|---|---|
| Total questions | 80 multiple-choice |
| Time limit | 75 minutes |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Correct answers needed (70% of 80) | 56 |
| Maximum misses (if all 80 are scored) | 24 |
| Average time per question | A little under one minute |
| Calculator | Basic four-function calculator permitted |
Notice the pacing implication. Seventy-five minutes across 80 questions is a little under a minute each. That is comfortable for recall questions on sanitation or customer service, but it leaves less slack for scenario questions that ask you to reason through a staffing, costing, or compliance situation. If you want a realistic sense of how demanding that combination is, our breakdown How Hard Is the CFE Exam? walks through the format in more detail.
What the Score Is Made Of: The Eight Question Groups
The handbook publishes an "Online Exam Question Make-up" with eight groups and a count for each. The counts total 80. Importantly, these are counts, not percentage weights, and the issuer has not published official percentage weights, so you should reason from the counts directly. Here is the full distribution:
| Question Group | Published Questions | Share of the 80 |
|---|---|---|
| Food Service Management | 20 | One quarter |
| Food Safety | 12 | Roughly one in seven |
| Customer Service | 10 | One in eight |
| Nutrition | 10 | One in eight |
| Operational Employee Safety | 10 | One in eight |
| Culinary Arts | 8 | One in ten |
| HACCP | 6 | Under one in ten |
| Food Service Math | 4 | One in twenty |
Since 56 correct answers clear the bar, Food Service Management alone represents more than a third of the correct answers you need. Strong performance there gives you a large head start; a weak showing forces you to make it up almost everywhere else. For a domain-by-domain walk-through of what each group covers, see CFE Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas.
Food Service Management (20 questions)
This is the heaviest group and the one most closely tied to the day-to-day work of the people the credential targets.
- The handbook's supplementary scope list points to topics such as personnel management, leadership, communication skills, purchasing, inventory, cost accounting, standard operating procedures, financial management, and strategic planning.
- Federal labor law also appears on that supplementary list, so expect employer-obligation scenarios.
- The handbook does not map those topics one-to-one onto the eight groups, so treat them as scope guidance rather than a per-question blueprint.
Food Safety and HACCP (18 questions combined)
Food Safety (12) and HACCP (6) together form the second-largest cluster. The two are closely related, and a candidate who understands hazard analysis and critical control points will pick up points in both.
- Think in terms of identifying hazards, setting controls, monitoring, and corrective action rather than memorizing isolated temperatures.
- Storage practices also appear in the live page's topic list, so cross-contamination and proper holding are fair game.
Where Candidates Lose Points Without Realizing It
When the pass line is a flat 70% and the exam is spread across eight groups, the danger is rarely one catastrophic domain. It is a pattern of small leaks. Based on the published distribution, these are the places a working manager is most likely to bleed points:
Assuming experience covers the management block
Many candidates run a kitchen or a store competently and still miss management questions, because exam answers favor the textbook-correct approach to costing, scheduling, or progressive personnel handling rather than the shortcut that works in your particular operation. With 20 questions riding on this group, confidence built purely on habit is a risk.
Neglecting the "soft" groups
Customer Service (10), Nutrition (10), and Operational Employee Safety (10) add up to 30 questions, which is 37.5% of the exam. A candidate who skims these because they feel intuitive can hand away eight or ten points. Operational Employee Safety in particular covers workplace hazards and protective practices that differ from food-safety content, so do not treat it as a duplicate of Food Safety.
Skipping Food Service Math because it is small
Four questions is only 5% of the exam, yet each question is worth the same as any other. Because a basic four-function calculator is allowed, these are among the most controllable points on the test, provided you have practiced yield, portioning, cost percentage, and similar industry formulas beforehand. Fumbling a calculation under time pressure is an avoidable loss. Our CFE Cheat Sheet is a good place to consolidate the formulas you want fresh before test day.
Exam Conditions That Affect Your Score
A passing score is earned under specific conditions, and those conditions can quietly cost you points if you are surprised by them.
- Closed-book supervision. The issuer's proctoring and ethics pages prohibit study aids and outside help. A proctor and an integrity form are required.
- Calculator rule. A basic four-function calculator is permitted; anything more advanced is not part of the published allowance. Bring or confirm the right device rather than assuming.
- The 60-day window. Current IFSEA pages say you should complete the exam within 60 days of purchase. This is a purchase-to-completion deadline, not the length of the test. The 75-minute timer is separate.
- Online delivery. The official online exam link runs through ClassMarker. Specific current remote-proctor arrangements are not fully verified in the materials we reviewed, so confirm the logistics with the issuer before you start your clock.
For scheduling specifics, deadlines, and how the purchase window interacts with your preparation, read CFE Exam Dates: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling. For eligibility questions, including the fact that current IFSEA policy lists no experience requirement, see CFE Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Fees, Retakes, and What a Miss Costs
Current published pricing is $299 for the training and exam, or $307.97 once the published 3% card fee is included. We found no member versus non-member tier in the current material. For a fuller pricing breakdown, see CFE Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
The retake picture is where candidates should be careful. The handbook consistently specifies a 14-day wait before retesting. It does not consistently state the charge, though. One section describes one free retest followed by a $99 fee, while another charges for every attempt. Because the handbook contradicts itself, the current retake fee and any included free retest need to be confirmed directly with the issuer. Do not assume a free second attempt.
Key Takeaway
Treat your first attempt as the one you are paying for. Even if a free retest exists, the 14-day wait and the unresolved fee language mean a miss costs time and possibly money. Prepare to pass once, and confirm retake terms before you buy.
What Your Score Buys: Validity and Renewal
A passing result earns a credential the handbook describes as valid for five years. The renewal path is notable: rather than accumulating a fixed number of continuing education units, the handbook says you renew by retaking the exam and scoring at least 70% again. It also describes a 90-day grace period after expiry. Current renewal fees are not verified, so check with IFSEA when your renewal window approaches.
This has a practical consequence for how you think about your score. Passing is not a one-time hurdle; it is a standard you will meet again in five years, which makes durable understanding more valuable than cramming. If you are weighing whether that cycle is worth it for your career, our analyses Is the CFE Certification Worth It? and CFE Salary Guide cover the return side, and CFE Jobs looks at the roles where the credential tends to matter.
Building a Plan Around the Passing Score
Rather than a generic study calendar, build yours around where the points are. Here is one way to sequence preparation across roughly five weeks, driven by the question counts above:
Food Safety and HACCP
- Start with the 18 combined questions because the concepts overlap and build a foundation for storage and safety topics.
- Practice explaining hazard controls in your own words.
Food Service Management
- Give this group two weeks; it is a quarter of the exam.
- Cover personnel management, leadership, purchasing, inventory, cost accounting, financial management, and federal labor law.
The 10-question groups
- Customer Service, Nutrition, and Operational Employee Safety together are 30 questions.
- Fold in Culinary Arts (8) here as well.
Math and full-length timing
- Drill Food Service Math with a basic four-function calculator.
- Run timed sets that mimic 80 questions in 75 minutes.
For a fuller methodology, see the CFE Study Guide: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and for structured instruction options, CFE Training. Because the real exam is timed and closed-book, rehearse under those conditions with timed sets on our CFE practice test site, and use the question-by-question feedback to see which of the eight groups is dragging your total below 56.
What the Issuer Has Not Published
Honest preparation means knowing what is not documented. Based on the sources we reviewed (the current IFSEA Certified Food Executive, certifications, proctoring, and ethics pages, plus the linked candidate handbook), the following remain unverified:
- Pass rate. It is not publicly disclosed. We will not guess, and you should be skeptical of any site that quotes one. See CFE Pass Rate: What the Data Shows for how to interpret the lack of data.
- Scored versus unscored split. The issuer does not state whether all 80 questions count.
- Blueprint revision date. No formal date is established. The handbook PDF carries July 2022 metadata, which is not evidence of a 2026 revision, and the question counts are issuer exam components rather than a newly dated percentage-weighted blueprint.
- Percentage weights. Only counts are published.
- Current renewal and retake fees. Both require issuer confirmation.
The handbook also contains older terms, such as a $219 price, scheduling within one year, and a manager or director prerequisite, that conflict with current live IFSEA pages. Where they conflict, the live pages take precedence, which is why this article uses the $299 price, the 60-day completion window, and the no-experience-requirement policy. If you are new to the credential and want grounding in the basics, What Is CFE? is a quick primer.
Frequently Asked Questions
The candidate handbook states a passing score of 70%. The exam has 80 multiple-choice questions and a 75-minute time limit, so 56 correct answers reach 70% if all questions are scored.
No separate per-domain minimum appears in the materials we reviewed. The published rule is a single 70% passing score. That said, the question counts mean Food Service Management (20 of 80) carries the most weight in your total.
Yes. The handbook permits a basic four-function calculator. Closed-book supervision otherwise prohibits study aids and outside help, so do not assume other tools or notes are allowed.
The handbook specifies a 14-day wait before a retest. Its statements about retake charges conflict, with one section describing one free retest then $99 and another charging every attempt, so confirm current terms with the issuer before purchasing.
The handbook describes five-year validity. Renewal is done by retaking the exam and scoring at least 70%, rather than by meeting a fixed continuing-education quota, and the handbook mentions a 90-day expiry grace period. Current renewal fees are not verified.